Prof. em. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Robert F. Schmidt, Ph.D.

Prof. Dr. Robert F. Schmidt has overall responsibility for exclusively preparing the medical knowledge for enpevita and vouches for its quality with his name.


He is the Emeritus Professor of Physiology at the Medical Faculty of the University of Würzburg and Honorary Professor of the University of Tübingen. Prof. Dr. Robert F. Schmidt's scientific works encompass more than 400 original publications and numerous physiology text books and adjacent disciplines, most of which have been published in several editions.


"Human Physiology", published by him and Professors F. Lang and M. Heckmann (popularly known as "Schmidt/Thews") is currently in its 31 edition. Prof. Dr. Robert F. Schmidt has received numerous awards, such as the Max Planck Research Prize (1991) and the German Pain Prize (1994). In 2000 he was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit 1st Class.


Areas of work

1956 - 1960 Electro-physiology and pharmacology of the heart

1960 – 1970 Mechanisms and function of pre-synaptic inhibition in the spinal cord, since 1965 somato-sympathetic interactions

1970 - 1973 Physiology of the cerebellum

1972 – 1981 Receptive properties and central circuitry of fine muscle afferent nerves

Currently Neuro-physiology of the nociceptors and pain particularly joint pain

Human Physiology


The standard text book for German medical students

Ausgewählte Publikationen bis 2000
RFS publikationen_aeltere_schmidt.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 347.5 KB
Ausgewählte Publikationen seit 2000
RFS publikationen_ausgewaehlte_schmidt.p
Adobe Acrobat Document 74.4 KB

Honorary awards

1977 Fellowship of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science

1985 / 1986 Academy Foundation of the Volkswagen Foundation

1985 Warner Lambert Lectureship for a Distinguished Foreign Scientist, Society for Neuroscience

1987 Election as Member, Academy of Sciences and Literature, Mainz

1990 Hartmann Müller Prize, Zürich

1991 Max Planck Research Prize (for outstanding scientific cooperation together with Dr Akio Sato, Tokyo)

1993 Adrian Zottermann Memorial Lecture, Glasgow, Int. Union Physiolog. Sciences

1994 German Pain Prize - German Award for Pain Research and Pain Therapy

1994 Honorary Member of the Columbian Society for the Study of Pain, Bogota, Columbia

1996 Doctor of Science honoris causa, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia

1996 Election as Honorary Member of the Academia Nacional de Medicina, Mexico, Mexico City, D.F.

1996 Honorary Member, Japan Physiological Society

1997 Investigador Asociado, Instituto de Neurosciencias, Universidad Miguel Hernándes, San Juan de Alicante, Spain

1999 Alexander von Humboldt-J.C. Mutis Preis, awarded by the Spanish Ministry of Culture, Madrid, Spain

2000 Honorary Member of the Deutschen Gesellschaft zum Studium des Schmerzes e.V. (German Society for the Study of Pain), Section of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP), Hamburg, Germany

2001 Federal Cross of Merit 1st Class, service honour of the Federal Republic of Germany, Berlin

2002 Appointed Honorary Professor, Eberhard Karls University Tübingen, Germany (Professor honoris causa)

2003 Honorary Member of the German Physiological Society

2004 Honorary Member of the German Society for Pain Therapy


Curriculum Vitae

1953 – 1959 Studied Human Medicine at the University of Heidelberg

1959 Doctorate: Dr. med. (magna cum laude), Medical Faculty of the University of Heidelberg

1959 / 1960 Medical Assistant period: University of Heidelberg and Surgical Department of the Bethanien Hospital in Heidelberg

1963 Doctorate: Ph.D., Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

1963 Licence to practice medicine, issued by the Ministry of the Interior Baden-Württemberg with effect from 14.5.1961


1956 – 1959 Doctoral student and Academic Assistant at the Physiological Institute of the Univ. Heidelberg (Prof. H. Schaefer, Doz. W. Trautwein)

1960 – 1962 Research Scholar at the Dept. of Physiology, Australian National Univ., Canberra, Australia (Prof. Sir John C. Eccles, FRS.)

1962 – 1966 Academic Assistant at the Institute for General Physiology of the University of Heidelberg (Prof. W. Trautwein)

1964 Habilitation for Physiology (4 June 1964), Medical Faculty of the Univ. Heidelberg

1966 Appointed to Academic Council at the II. Physiologic Institute of the University of Heidelberg and civil servant status for life

1970 Appointed to apl. Professor (28 Jan. 1970), Med. Fac. of Univ. Heidelberg

1970 / 1971 Visiting Research Associate Professor, Department of Physiology, State University of New York at Buffalo, N.Y., USA

1970 – 1982 Professor and Director, Physiological Institute of the University of Kiel

1976 Visiting Professor at the Marine Biological Institute, University of Texas Medical School at Galveston, Texas, USA (Prof. W.D. Willis)

1977 Visiting Scientist, Dept. of Physiology, Tokyo Metropolitan Institute of Gerontology, Tokyo, Japan (Dr Akio Sato)

Since 1982 Professor and Member of the Management Board of the Physiologic Institute of the University of Würzburg

1989 Visiting Scientist (2 months), Dept. of Physiology, Tokyo Metropolitan Institute of Gerontology, Tokyo, Japan (Dr Akio Sato)

1993 Visiting Scientist (2 months), School of Physiology and Pharmacology, University New South Wales, Kensington, Australia (Prof. Mark Rowe)


Ancillary scientific work

1979 Chairman, German Physiological Society

1968 – 1982 Advisory Board, Journal of Neurology

1969 – 1984 Editorial Board, Brain Research

1971 – 1994 Board of Co-editors, Exp. Brain Research

Since 1975 Editorial Board, Journal of Neuroscience Research

1978 – 1986 Advisory Board, Journal of the Autonomic Nervous System

Since 1978 Editorial Board, Progress in Sensory Physiology

1982 – 1988 Member, DFG Senate Committee and Approval Committee for special areas of research

1986 – 1992 European Editorial Committee, Physiological Reviews

Since 1993 Pain Reviews, Editorial Board

Since 1994 Section Editor for Sensory Physiology, Experimental Brain Research

Since 1994 Managing Editor, Experimental Brain Research

Bei Interesse schreiben Sie uns: